Academy of Medicine of Richmond

Staten Island, New York

In 1990, the Richmond County Medical Society established the Academy of Medicine of Richmond whose primary goal is to provide continuing medical education activities for local physicians and allied health professionals which augment the educational programs offered in a traditional institutional setting. These programs are designed to enhance the standards of medical practice, as well as to promote collegiality among medical professionals. The Academy of Medicine of Richmond is accredited by the Medical Society of the State of New York to award Continuing Medical Education credits for physicians.

Internists, Pediatricians and Surgeons have each formed a specialty section within the Academy which provide CME programs of specific interest to the needs of their respective specialties. In addition to physicians, dentists, podiatrists, psychologists and physicians assistants may join as Associate Fellows of the Academy of Medicine and are invited to participate in lectures and other activities sponsored by the Academy.

The Academy of Medicine sponsors an Annual Residents’ and Fellows’ Research Paper Competition for residents and fellows in training programs on Staten Island.

As patient advocates and community leaders, Fellows and Associate Fellows of the Academy participate in forums that directly impact the health of local residents, including environmental impact studies and immunizations outreach programs. In order to address the increase in youth violence, the Pediatric Section has established a Speakers' Bureau which offers the services of medical professionals for student and parent forums on a variety of health-related topics.

For information on membership into the Academy or programs contact the office at (718) 668-2666 or


Annual  Resident's Research Competition

June 9, 2015

Location: TBD

Academy Officers

President - Allan B. Perel, MD
Vice President - Donna P. Seminara, MD
Treasurer - George P. Smith, MD
Secretary - Richard Grodman, MD

CME Committee Officers

Chairman - Vincent P. DeGennaro, MD
Vice Chairperson- Richard Grodman, MD

Internal Medicine Section - Officers

Chairman - Anthony R. Sgarlato, MD
Vice Chairman - Ana Paula Oppenheimer MD

Pediatric Section - Officers

Chairwoman - Usha Thomas, MD
Vice Chairperson - TBD

Surgical Section - Officers

Chairman - George P. Smith, MD
Vice Chairperson - Frank Tarantini MD, William Rodino MD

Resident & Fellow Section – Officers

Chairman - Lizette Lopez, MD - RUMC
Vice Chairman - TBD - SIUH